Meet our Governors

The Role of Governors
Being a governor is a vital Christian ministry. It involves time, energy and a willingness to become involved in the life of the school on a regular basis. It requires the prayerful and practical support of the local Church. The governing board has a strategic role and must not be confused with the role of the headteacher. It develops policy in consultation with the staff of the school, approves these policies and monitors their implementation. The head teacher, aided by any leadership team, is responsible for the implementation of these policies and the day-to-day management of the school.
Further information about governance can be found at:


Welcome from the Co-Chairs of Governors

Dawpool School Governing Body is made up of volunteers who include 6 foundation governors (appointed by the Diocesan Board of Education, in conjunction with our Rector and our Parochial Church Council),  2 elected parents, 2 associate governors, 1 elected staff member, 1 co-opted governor, the Rector and the Headteacher.

Our governors have different skills, experiences and knowledge and all bring a valid and vital perspective to the governing board. We all visit school regularly, have discussions in committees, act as 'critical friends' and make decisions at full governing body meetings regularly. Together, we strive to ensure that the school's distinctive vision, values and aims are developed and that the school serves its community by providing an education of the highest quality.

Dawpool is blessed by committed and enthusiastic staff and governors, delightful children and supportive parents and families. It is a pleasure to join in school activities, to chat with staff and absorb their enthusiasm and passion for education and above all, to see the children learn and be happy.

The information below will provide you with more information about our Governing Body.

R. Carter & K. Reynolds (Co-Chairs)


Governing Body Structure & Membership
Governing Body Impact Statements
The Impact Statement for 2023-24 will be established at the Full Governing Body Meeting on 19.10.23
Governor List
  • Mrs R. Carter

    Co-Chair of Governors, Foundation DBE

  • Mrs K. Reynolds

    Co-Chair of Governors, Parent Elected

  • Mrs H. Williams

    Vice Chair of Governors, SEND & Pupil Premium, Foundation DBE

  • Rev J. Turner

    Foundation (Ex officio)

  • Mrs C. Mathieson

    Foundation DBE

  • Rev D. Felix

    Foundation DBE

  • Mrs J. Trigg

    Safeguarding, Foundation DBE

  • Mrs V. Woods

    Co-opted Governor

  • Mr D. Burrows

    Head Teacher Governor

  • Mrs C. McCann

    Associate Governor

  • Mrs E. Kenney

    Associate Governor

  • Vacancy

    Foundation DBE

  • Vacancy

    Parent Elected

Governing Body Attendance
Meeting Attendance 2023-24
Full Governing Body - 21.09.23
R. Cater, K. Reynolds, D. Burrows, D. Felix, J. Turner, H. Williams, J. Trigg, C. Mathieson, C. McCann, E. Kenney, L. Brown
V. Woods